h1

Movies that make science and engineering look cool.

November 4, 2009

Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters-“Back off man, I’m a scientist”

Who owns an unlicensed nuclear accelerator. And then there is that ghost trap contraption and storage facility. Plus these guys live in a firehouse and drive an old ambulance. I ain’t ‘fraid of no ghost.

twister_movie_image__3_

Twister-“When you used to tell me that you chase tornadoes, deep down I thought it was just a metaphor.”

A team so passionate about what they do, they risk their lives chasing F5 tornadoes. Then while in the field, almost getting killed, the problem solving skills kick in and they cut up Pepsi cans to make the round data collecting gizmos (okay I am not a scientist) functional. You will believe a truck can fly.

future460Back To the Future-“I need a nuclear reaction to generate the 1.21 gigawatts of electricity.”

De Lorean time machine, ’nuff said.

The James Bond movies-“Now pay attention double O 7.”bond gear

You know you loved all those cool gadgets in the earlier movies, but along with Bond, we all love Q. He makes the coolest things that maim, blow up, make invisible, disable, maim (oops I said that twice). I know all the action is pretty cool, but what we really like is all the awesome spy gear. Bond, James Bond

jetcar1The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension-“no matter where you go, there you are”

Buckaroo is a rockstar / neurosurgeon / physicist / samurai / superhero leading his group of crime fighting Hong Kong Cavaliers to battle the evil from the 8th Dimension. He actually drives a supercharged Ford through a mountain. That’s some serious science going on. Plus this is one of my favorite cult classics.

Ironman-“Let’s face it, this is not the worst thing you’ve caught me doing. “ironman

Probably the one movie that had kids thinking…”I want to do that!” Tony Stark-MIT at 17, owns his own business, tinkers with hot rods and makes one kick ass superhero suit. Think about all the engineering and science that went into all the equipment and tools he uses to construct the the Ironman armour. An AI system that even saves his life. Too cool. I am Ironman.

Obviously this isn’t a comprehensive list nor is it meant to be. It’s just a few movies I like and wanted to have fun with. What movies do you think make science and engineering look cool?

-“

2 comments

  1. A very ecclectic list, and I like that — way to go including “Ironman” and “Ghostbusters,” which definitely deserves the top honors.

    M. Carter @ the Movies
    http://mcarteratthemovies.wordpress.com/


    • Thank you. I was just having fun with some of the movies I like. I appreciate you reading it and your comments!

      Alex
      @agboise on Twitter



Leave a comment